Day 6 Training for the NYC Marathon

10/22 Day 6 training for the NYC Marathon

Today’s run was awesome! Completed 10m in 1hr 40minutes!

Upon my research I found that run on a softer surface, like a hiking trail, for at least part of your long run. A dirt path is gentler on your body than asphalt or concrete, and running on it will help you recover faster after your long run so for this run I did some trail running and pavement running!

Interval sprint training

Aka speedwork can be done on a track at your local high school. Most high-school tracks are open to the public, and they’re also a softer surface, compared to asphalt and concrete. Most tracks are 400 meters (about 1/4 mile), so it’s easy for you monitor your distance when you’re running on it. If you’re new to running on a track.

My issue;

The best distance athletes don’t just have impressive quads and glutes. They have the use of their arms and shoulders which help them maintain throughout their races. When you run, your arms counterbalance the motion of your legs, resulting in saved energy. The swing of the arms helps propel the body forward so the lower body isn’t doing all the work. And a strong upper body bolsters a runner’s form when fatigue sets in. I order to fix this issue I decided to do some arm workouts to strengthen them. Since its been 4weeks then I have not done Crossfit I decided to do some yoga tomorrow for flexibility and interval training to strengthen my upper body while taking a 2 day break. Next post ill give tips on upper body workouts to strengthen your arms!

Marathon TIP 1; Rethink the Mileage

What will get me through the Marathon, Mentally break into smaller sections. The 15-mile run will feel much more doable if you break it into three five-mile segments. Once you get to the 12 mile mark of an 18-mile run, think to yourself, OK, just under 10K from here.. Hence why I asked my friends to be at the 22mile mark in upper Manhattan to cheer me on! Seeing one person will give me the strength to continue, it’s great to see others believe in you 🙂

Marathon TIP 2;

Walking Break during the marathon: I have been told that many people walk through water stops in marathons. And taking a short walking break gives your running muscles a quick rest, so you’ll feel more energized and refreshed when you start running again so if you need to do this then give it a try during your training, i tried this and it does not work for me.

Next post ill be speaking on the following topics; arm workouts and interval training!

Happy running!

 

Leave a Reply

