Running….How it all began

It all began the end of summer 2010, I had just finished conquering a 30mile, 55mile and finally a 65mile bike ride and next thing I wanted to do was get back into running. As I recalled how awesome it felt running 4miles, how hard my abs got after my runs and most of all how great that “runners high” felt (euphoria/endorphines)

I began by setting up a plan for myself; step 1 find a jogging partner so I could motivate myself and step 2 conquer the Long Beach Boardwalk (4.4miles).

As my partner and I set out on the boardwalk we had all the confidence in the world that this would be a piece of cake! Boy were we wrong, as we huffed and puffed to the end. At the end we both looked at each other and said oh no “We still have to jog back”!!!

It’s amazing how difficult 2.2 miles could be but even so we decided to jog 1-2x a week until we could jog it straight through. We were set on conquering this boardwalk!

After about a month (September) of jogging, I expectantly overheard a conversation between my co workers. They were discussing running tips in regards to the NYC marathons, being interested I started asking questions. I found out that my co worker had ran a marathon before and was about to run her 2nd marathon, I couldn’t believe it. Never in a million years would running a marathon be something I would even considered but after just completing a 65mile bike ride I felt like I could do anything! Especially after hearing a person just like me could do it, I was motivated to one day do what she did.

She informed me about the NYRR (New York Road Runners) and how they had races for good causes during the year so I decided to look into it. My partner and I saw that there was a 10K (6.3miles) race coming up in November so we would have 3months to train but unfortunately when went to sign up it was full. We checked to see if there were any races left in 2010, surprisingly there was one last race but it was a 15K (9.3miles) on December 18th! I don’t think at that moment we realized what a 15K really was, the one thing we were thinking of was getting in a race before 2011 and seeing what we where made of, so we signed up! We now had 4 months to train and this was all the motivation we needed!

  • On October 19, 2010, we finally did it! “5miles what!!! Working on 7.5 then 10miles!!! I’m on a mission lol” as per my facebook status at 5:15pm. As you can see I was so motivated and dedicated to finishing this race. Not sure what it was but in no time we were able to complete longer runs and no even running, no more yogging as my partner would call it! About 4 weeks later, November 11, 20011 we hit 6miles in only 50mins and in 17 days later, November 23rd we hit7, 7.6 and finally the big one 8miles; I couldn’t believe it! Now I really couldn’t wait for December 19th to come already.
  • Just ran my first 6miles in 50mins!!!! Woot woot!!!!!! November 11, 2010 at 4:09pm via iPhone
  • Feeling better…. Time to break 6.1miles November 14, 2010 at 9:51am via iPhone
  • 7miles in 1hr 20mins… I’m back!!!!!!! Just gonna keep my head up high n show them who I am!November 14, 2010 at 12:59pm via iPhone
  • 7.6miles in 1hr 10mins!!!! My last mile in 8mins what what! November 21, 2010 at 11:32am via iPhone·
  • Ready for my 1st 15K race……… this is going to be fun!!!!!!!!!!!! After that my next goal half a marathon 13miles.. Bring it!November 19, 2010 at 11:37am · via iPhone
  • 8miles in an hour and 30mins! Yay! November 23, 2010 at 5:06pm via iPhone
  • 9.3miles here I come! I’m gonna beat 2hrs! December 19, 2010 at 7:51am via iPhone  
  • EXACTLY 10 DAYS TIL my 15k race…………. aiming for 1hr and 45mins…. December 9, 2010 at 9:43am via iPhone

I also owe a lot to it to our friends and family for supporting us every step of the way, without FB status and comments I don’t think we could have came so far in very little time. Even the jokes helped and encourage us to just keep going, as you can see below.

When Sunday, December 19th came I can’t tell you how excited I was, I barely could sleep. We got up at 5:30am and headed out to the Manhattan. We were directed by email to pick our tags (tracking system so they can time your run and racing number so photographers could send you photos) before 7:30am and proceeded to the starting line before 9am. As we drove into the city i realized how many runners NYC had, we saw runners on the streets & runners in the subway, they were everywhere.

As the race commenced standing among those other thousands of runners I felt a sense of pride within myself and the other runners. We were all here for one thing, to challenge ourselves. “When you put yourself on the line in a race and expose yourself to the unknown, you learn things about yourself that are very exciting.”

As I went on my run, I kept telling myself “Patty, just have some fun & finish it under 1hour and 45mins”. Nothing could have prepared me for this intense run, all I saw were never ending hills after hills. As I hit my 6miles out of now where it hit me that “runners high”, I ran and ran never once stopped. I then hit 7miles and finally 8miles with only 1.3miles to go! No idea where this energy came from but I sprinted out the last 1.3 miles leaping to the finish line, thinking how great it was to have finished it. As I met up with my partner to cab it back to the car a speculator from the crowd came up to me and said “wow, you were really moving at the end”. That little comment made me feel like I was on top of the world, for some else other then myself to see how much I really wanted this.

As my partner and I waited for the results, all I hoped for was to get my number – 1hour and 45mins. I not only finished the race under 2hours but I did it 5 minutes less than I thought I would come in, 1 hr 40mins! VICTORY!

1st 15k race with NYRR

Pictures of me during my 1st run… 15K (9.3Miles hilly)

Leave a Reply

